Junior Wildlife Club

junior_wildlife_logoThe Red River Area Sportsmen’s Club started the Junior Wildlife Club for youth in the community ages 8 through 16. This is a free youth-orientated organization geared towards introducing kids to wildlife and habitat conservation.

They meet the third Thursday of every month and have different outdoor topics at each meeting.

Topics include:

  • Fly Tying
  • Bird House Construction
  • Tours of the Chahinkapa Zoo
  • Duck Calling Demonstrations and Practice
  • Trapping Demonstrations
  • Outdoor and Indoor Archer
  • Small Bore Rifle Shooting
  • Animal Track and Fur Identification
  • Trap and Skeet Shotgut Shooting
  • Camping and Outdoor Safety
  • Presentations by North Dakota Game and Fish,
  • Minnesota DRN and U.S. Fish and Wildlife
  • Many Other Activities

2018-2019 Junior Wildlife Activities
Wednesday, June 27 • 5 p.m. – Preserve the Tradition Museum
Thursday, July 19 • 6 p.m. – Chahinkapa Zoo Tour/Scavanger Hunt
Thursday, August 23 • 6 p.m. – Outdoor Archery
Friday, September 14 • 6 p.m. – Trap Shooting & Duck/Goose Calling
Saturday, September 15 – Youth Waterfowl Hunt
Friday, September 28 – Trap Shooting
Saturday, September 29 – Youth Pheasant Hunt
Thursday, October 18 • 6 p.m. – Gun Cleaning
Thursday, November 15 • 6 p.m. – Carving
Thursday, January 17 • 6 p.m. – Air Rifle Shooting
Thursday, February 21 • 6 p.m. – Indoor Archery
Thursday, March 21 • 6 p.m. – Bird Nest Box Workshop
Monday, April 8 • 5 p.m. – Birding Field Trip to Tewaukon Refuge
Thursday, May 16 • 6 p.m. – Pollinators at Nature Center

For more information, contact Cindie VanTassel at 218-643-4374.

Download the Junior Wildlife Club Registration Form